I've been a motorcyclist most of my life. Before owning and riding them I had motorcycle toys. Everything from matchbox motorcycles to an Evel Knievel air pump ramp which made a spectacular little rider shoot down it and off into the sunset. The harder you pumped the further that little bugger would balance and ride. Members of my extended family rode dirt bikes. Friends of the family were into the big bikes. Harleys mostly. I grew up in Milwaukee. So it seemed the goal of many I knew who rode either had them or were working toward owning one. I really bought into the whole free spirit... esthetic.
When the time came to find myself a ride I was a little late to the party. Most of my friends were riding already. Small displacement motorcycles. From YZ80s to three and four hundred cc displacement road bikes. Home was a region of neighborhoods broken up by tracts of woods and fields. You could really learn how to handle a motorcycle back in those days. In fact my mother, an immigrant who'd never been on a motorcycle, advised me to get "one of those that have lights but you can ride in the woods. That way if you crash, somebody won't run you over." Actually she said it in German.
Get an enduro and learn to ride it in the woods around the neighborhood. Then take it out on the road. So I did. And my friends and I rode trails in southeast Wisconsin. I can't recall that we ever really "tore it up" either. We simply rode the worn backwoods paths we found and no one seemed bothered that we did. Those were different times.
I grew into desiring larger bikes and paved roads. My friends did as well. Some of them crossed the country while I remained much a day tripper. Although a few overnights were in the cards, I had my reasons for keeping closer to home.
Years passed and I moved to another state. Meanwhile the widespread use of cell phones enhanced everyone's driving experience. Or so everyone thought. The truth about cell phone usage while driving guided most states to enact laws and heavy fines. But prohibition by the state seems to encourage a segment of the population to flaunt the law. Just to prove to themselves that not getting into accidents must be proof they're fine enough drivers to use cell phones while driving anyway.
For a motorcyclist the risks calculated are much more stark. We tend to back away from commodities which make us question the unknown attentiveness of the driver. We can see the silhouette of a hand to the side of a head and what that means.
I haven't seen a positive change since this state made handheld cell phone usage while driving illegal. Same as before, really.
My kids were young. I didn't want to leave them without a father so I quit motorcycles. Now that it's been a few years I don't intend on going back to it. Bicycling is healthier and fulfills what I get out of riding. Are bicycles less risky? Maybe, maybe not. Are they healthier to use? Yes.
Your mileage will vary.